

Terms of reference EACS Award

- The EACS Award is awarded every two years at the time of the EACS Conference in recognition of an individual's longstanding, impactful and sustained professional contribution to the field of HIV. Contributions worthy of this recognition need to reflect sustained excellence in the field of HIV. Such contributions may be scientific in nature, and/or relate to advancing the prevention and care of people at risk of or affected by HIV, or to promoting education, policy, community engagement and/or advocacy.
- Only EACS members are eligible to submit nominations for potential EACS Award laureates.
- Nominees may be nationals from any country, although those professionally active in Europe may be prioritised by the committee.
- Nominations need to include a brief (max 1 A4 page, font size 12) written summary
 of the nominee's main contributions to the field of HIV and why they are deemed
 worthy of receiving the EACS Award. Supporting documentation in terms of for
 example a curriculum vitae, biographical sketch, publication record or otherwise is
 highly recommended and appreciated.
- Nominations, addressed to the chair of the EACS Award selection committee, should be submitted to the EACS secretariat by e-mail [info@eacsociety.org], and no later than 12 May 2025.
- EACS Award selection committee:
 - Jointly, membership should reflect a diversity of expertise and experience, which at a minimum needs to include clinical medicine, fundamental research, epidemiology and public health, and community representation.
 - The committee's chair will be appointed by the EACS Governing Board.
 - Award committee membership, including that of the chair, will be for a period of 4 years (i.e. covering two biennial EACS conferences), with the option of serving for one additional 4-year term (i.e. covering another two biennial EACS conferences). The committee should strive for at least two but not more than half of the members to rotate off the committee at the end of their first term
 - Following due discussion, the committee will preferably and wherever possible select the EACS Award recipient by consensus or, should this not be feasible, by simple majority vote.
 - At least one laureate is to be awarded every two years, with the option to consider two laureates, one of whom should have made major contributions concerning community engagement and/or advocacy.
 - The name of the proposed laureate will be put forward to the EACS President for endorsement.
 - The committee members should refrain from nominating potential laureates to avoid conflicts of interest.



Committee members:

Prof. Peter Reiss (Chair)

Dr. Magdalena Ankiersztejn-Bartczak (community)

Prof. Brigitte Autran (fundamental research)
Prof. Pedro Cahn (clinical medicine & research)

Mr. Matthew Hodson (community)

Dr. Mariana Mardarescu (clinical medicine & research)

Mr. Marco Vitoria (public health)

EACS Award 2025 nomination process

Timetable:

03/03/2025	Email to EACS members: Call for nomination
31/03/2025	Email to EACS members: Reminder 1
28/04/2025	Email to EACS members: Last chance!
12/05/2025	Deadline for nomination
13/05/2025	Send nominations to Award committee Chair for approval
20-23/05/2025	Send email to nominees to inform them of nomination
08/06/2025	Deadline for nominees to accept nomination
10/06/2025	Send nominations to the committee for review and scoring
06/07/2025	Deadline for committee to return their reviews and scores
07-11/07/2025	Award Committee conference call to select laureate
14/07/2025	Name of selected laureate forwarded to the EACS Bureau for endorsement
11/08/2025	Inform nominees of selection
15/10/2025	Award Ceremony during the opening of EACS 2025 in Paris